MCTM

Minnesota Council of Teachers of Mathematics

An affiliate of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics.
The MCTM is an organization of professionals dedicated to promoting the teaching and learning of meaningful mathematics for all students by supporting educators in their efforts to improve mathematics instruction.

Log in

MCTM Connect

MCTM's Commitment to Beginning Math Teachers

MCTM CONNECT (Committee to Orient and Network New/Novice Educators into a Community of (Math) Teaching) is an initiative of MCTM that attempts to reach out and support pre-service Math teachers and those in their first few years. Statistics show that many Math teachers leave the profession during their first five years and the goal of MCTM is to assist teachers in those critical years.

The committee has embarked on an ambitious program to connect with pre-service and beginning teachers, make them aware of the professional growth opportunities that MCTM and NCTM provide and to help them network with other enthusiastic math educators. A complete list of activities, including virtual mentoring, live mentoring and conferences can be found in a link in the CONNECT menu.

The planning committee for the MCTM Fall Conference receives help and suggestions from the CONNECT Committee to insure that there will be several sessions designed to meet the needs of novice teachers, who will then be encouraged to attend.

The program culminates at the joint MCTM/MinnMATYC Spring Conference each year with the CONNECT session, held on the Thursday evening before the conference begins. In addition to a meal, attendees at this event will meet and network with other attendees and leaders of mathematics education. They will also receive advice and suggestions about getting the most out of their conference attendance.

Members are encouraged to refer new colleagues to MCTM CONNECT activities. We think we can make a difference in the profession and ultimately for students.

CONNECT Committee

Name

Position

Email

Ryota Matsuura
Chair
matsuura@stolaf.edu
Anne Bartel
Honorary Member
bartel.anne@gmail.com
Rhonda Bonnstetter
District Director
bonnst@myclearwave.net
Dan Bungert
Member
dan.bungert@gmail.com
Jennie Diaz
Member
jennieddiaz@gmail.com
Todd Frauenholtz
Member
tfrauenholtz@BemidjiState.edu
Brian Frost
Member
Brian.Frost@moundsviewschools.org
Becky Groseth
Member
becky.groseth@anokaramsey.edu
Dan Halstensgard
Member
daniel.halstensgard@wayzata.k12.mn.us
Kristen Helland
Member
khelland@isd91.org
Betty Johnston
Member
elizabet.johnston@comcast.net
Larry Luck
Member
larryluck0@gmail.com
Kelsey Raasch
Member
k.m.raasch@gmail.com
Megan Rubbelke
Member
mrubbelke@isd166.org
Sara Van Asten
Member
svanasten@nhcc.edu
May Vang
Member
Myvang1@gmail.com
Terry Wyberg
Member
wyber001@umn.edu

Not a
member yet?

JOIN NOW

Quick links

© Minnesota Council of Teachers of Mathematics

Follow our activities

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software